Yorkshire days at Bolton Abbey and the Yorkshire Sculpture Park

I spent a few days wandering around the Yorkshire Dales, it is such a beautiful and interesting landscape. This is a reservoir we passed, it is close to Haworth – home of the Bronte sisters.  It was so peaceful, I could have stayed there for hours

howarth resevoir

This is the approach to Bolton Abbey and the ruins of the Abbey

bolton abbey      bolton abbey 2

I couldn’t resist this view taken through one of the Abbey doors

bolton abbey 3

I love old graveyards and found some interesting grave markers, this one looks as though it was re-built from the old stone marker.

bolton abbey grave marker 3   bolton abbey grave marker 4

The church has the most interesting door furniture too

bolton abbey church 8  bolton abbey church bolton abbey church 3

I was staying a couple of miles away from the Yorkshire Sculpture Park which has several Henry Moore sculptures. My friend Julie had her camera out 🙂

julie at ysp  who you lookin at 009

The Park is huge and has lots of sculptures including one called the HAHA Bridge.  This is interesting, both sides of the bridge say haha but the lettering on one side is in negative lettering.  I had never noticed that before

haha bridge again jules at the hahaha bridge

I loved my time away but am glad to be back home with my hooligans

 

 

This entry was posted in Places I have been. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yorkshire days at Bolton Abbey and the Yorkshire Sculpture Park

  1. Julie Mackinder says:

    You soon got your photos up 😉 I’ve enjoyed seeing them and remembering our adventures. Mine are still in the camera. I may have to pinch that one of me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. yarngoddess says:

    Aaah! So nice. Did you say hello to the sheep for me?
    Diane

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great to see you back blogging and feeling better. Loving the collographs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

