Fabric of India

We went to see the Fabric of India exhibition at the V&A yesterday.  It was a lovely day out and if you the follow the link, you will see pictures of some of the exhibits (no photography allowed).  The fabrics and garments were exquisite and I was pretty much drooling by the end, lush red silks – YUM.  There were some beautifully dyed fabrics, with indigo in evidence and shibori techniques.  I was a bit surprised  this was all high end, and beautifully made, I expected more ‘everyday’ cloth.  I am not disappointed, just surprised.

This entry was posted in Dyeing and Printing, Embroidery, exhibitions, Other peoples stuff, Places I have been, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fabric of India

  1. yarngoddess says:

    Interesting. But I would have expected that at the V&A.

    Like

  2. Julie Mackinder says:

    But did you buy anything?!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • wendycoyne says:

      I only bought the book from the exhibition, it is lush, I will bring it on Wednesday for you to drool over. In the meantime, you can watch the dvd’s from the exhibition if you follow the link above 🙂

      Like

  3. wendycoyne says:

    I bought the book of the exhibition 🙂

    Like

  4. Sounds like a wonderful day out. I bet you came home loaded with artistic inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

