Can’t spin, must sew

I hurt my thumb, can’t draft fibre so no spinning. When in doubt, sew something! The fabric for the blue pinafore was a recent purchase so I am proud that I used it before it got stashed. It is a bit ‘utility’ so needs the addition of fru-fru, maybe a big floral brooch. I got the back straps very wrong so took it to sit and stitch, we have many experts there and Jane pinned them in the proper place.


The bird fabric has been in the drawer for a year, I always intended to make a pinafore with it. I couldn’t match the side seams so the red trim was added to make a distraction. But I did get the birds the right way up – result!  This one is shorter and very practical. No fru-fru needed 😉

This entry was posted in clothes I made, sewn stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Can’t spin, must sew

  1. Love, love, love the birdie one 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. yarngoddess says:

    Ah, I like these and I’m happy to see you matched the edges of the shoulder straps to the bib on the birdie one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beth-now Near Louisville KY! says:

    One fun and one practical. Very nice. If the pattern is not commercial, I always make one to figure out where the designer didn’t know what to do and fix it for the future and the ‘good’ fabric!

    Like

  4. Love the bird print! I’m a beginner sewer at best but would love to get back into it (if only I could find the time!)

    Like

  5. Hi there, I am new to your blog, and found you via a comment you made on Under A Topaz Sky.
    I love the pinafore pattern! Where did you find it? The pinafore looks great in both fabrics! I have that birdie fabric too, although I don’t think I have enough to make a pinafore … I made a small tote bag from mine … I haven’t blogged about it though.
    Nice to meet you!
    Barbara

    Like

Leave a Reply

