Quest

In my quest for a hobby which I can do without over using my thumbs, I listened to my friend Julie. Julie recommended weaving but I found my 24″ rigid heddle loom a bit daunting so I purchased a 10″ one to learn on. Here it is waxed and assembled (by me)


Of course my hand woven yarn isn’t strong enough to use as warp, and I clearly didn’t have anything suitable (!!!). I did fancy a bit of an outing so Jules and I went to Stamford to the Ewe wool shop. It held many delights. Sigh.


The alpaca may not be suitable for warp but it is so soft and lovely. I guess the cotton was the sensible thing in my bag.  

Although I have not been able to spin for more than 10-15 minutes at a time, I did manage to ply some singles already spun. 135 gms of the soft blue and 110 gms of the greeny blue.  

This entry was posted in shopping, spinning, stuff I made, Weaving. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quest

  1. Julie Mackinder says:

    Well done for getting it waxed and put together. Once you’ve got a warp on it I’m sure you’ll enjoy using it. It’s not too steep a learning curve and you can adapt the strips for larger projects including bags and clothing if you want. Hope you enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

